Yves Saint Laurent

Rümker has been accompanying Yves Saint-Laurent in its brand expressions since 2009. The project shown here is unique in its use of transparent, iridescent and opalescent materials, selected to create plays of light and reflections throughout the installation.

Projet Yves Saint-Laurent

By juggling with various extruded profiles, the designers imagined a linear and geometric aesthetic that still managed to be flamboyant thanks to the interplay between lustrous black and gold punctuated by brighter colours like red and pink.

Projet Yves Saint-Laurent
Projet Yves Saint-Laurent
Projet Yves Saint-Laurent

Brand codes

Yves St-Laurent is a well-established brand, which for the Rümker designers implied working with a precise brand code and elevated quality expectations. For many years the team has succeeded in creating environments that meet these criteria while consistently reinventing the brand so it remains at the cutting edge.

Pride

The concepts we thus developed, which addressed all the issues associated with the mandate, were the object of tremendous pride for the team. The result is an attractive look with interesting plays of light on the various surfaces. Great attention was paid to detail from concept to manufacture, where stringent production controls were applied.

Technical challenges

The task of designing installations within department stores like Hudson’s Bay came with a number of constraints imposed on the designers. Small footprints, the need to maximize the number of products displayed, inventory optimization, ultra-chic expressions of the brand… all of these helped to inspire and provide a framework for the design team. In concrete terms, we met these challenges by creating iconic display units that provided increased presentation space which in the past was created through the use of columns. To meet the specific functional needs for a given space, since each installation created by Rümker was slated for a different store across Canada, we needed to remain flexible in its conception. A good example of this adaptability might be the different seismic safety standards for each province, especially as it concerned the suspended canopies that are a hallmark of the YSL kiosks.

Because Yves St-Laurent is a brand in constant evolution, we were required to meet new guidelines, in terms of both material and graphic standards, which are renewed regularly. These aesthetic guidelines, although highly precise, do help us to coalesce our ideas and push the functionality of the furniture and its different sections to another level.

Technical sheet
Location Hudson's Bay, Holt Renfrew and Nordstrom (Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver)
Client Yves St-Laurent
Year Since 2009
Share This

Yves Saint Laurent

Rümker accompagne la marque Yves Saint-Laurent dans son design depuis 2009. Le projet illustré ici se démarque par les couches de matières transparentes, iridescentes, opalescentes.

Projet Yves Saint-Laurent

Nous avons voulu créer des jeux de lumières et reflets dans cet aménagement. En jonglant avec des pièces en extrusion, les designers ont imaginé un concept à l’esthétique géométrique et linéaire, tout en étant flamboyante grâce à un dialogue entre le noir lustré et le doré, ainsi qu’aux touches de couleurs vives telles le rouge et le rose.

Projet Yves Saint-Laurent
Projet Yves Saint-Laurent
Projet Yves Saint-Laurent

Les codes de marque

Yves St-Laurent est une marque bien établie, ce qui implique pour les designers de Rümker de devoir travailler avec des codes de marque précis et des exigences de qualité supérieures. Depuis plusieurs années, l’équipe réussit à créer des environnements répondant à ses critères tout en réinventant le concept pour s’assurer de demeurer à l’avant-garde.

Notre fierté

Les concepts créés, répondant à toutes les problématiques du mandat, rendent fière l’équipe. Les résultats donnent une allure très intéressante au niveau des effets de lumière sur les surfaces. Une grande attention fut d’ailleurs portée aux détails, depuis la conceptualisation jusqu’à la fabrication où un suivi de production assidu a été fait.

Les défis techniques

Avec pour mandat d’imaginer des aménagements à l’intérieur même de magasins grande surface tels La Baie, de nombreuses contraintes sont imposées aux designers. Espaces restreints, maximisation du nombre de produits à présenter, optimisation du stockage d’inventaire, illustration léchée de la marque… ces limites sont là pour encadrer et inspirer l’équipe. Concrètement, ces défis ont été relevés en adaptant et en créant des meubles iconiques pour plus d’espace de présentation et de rangement, autrefois matérialisés sous forme de colonnes. Pour répondre aux fonctions propres aux lieux d’intervention, puisque les aménagements créés par Rümker se retrouvent dans différents magasins à travers le Canada, il faut toujours être flexibles dans la conception. Un bon exemple de cette adaptabilité peut être les normes de sécurité à respecter pour résister aux séismes selon les provinces, surtout lorsqu’il est question de suspension au niveau des canopés encadrant le kiosque YSL.

Puisqu’Yves St-Laurent est une marque en constante évolution, il faut répondre aux nouvelles lignes guides, tant au niveau matériel que graphique, celles-ci se renouvelant régulièrement. Ces esthétiques à suivre, bien que très précises, aident à organiser les idées pour pousser plus loin les fonctions du mobilier à créer et les différentes sections.

Fiche technique
Emplacement HBC, Holt Renfrew et Nordstrom (Montréal, Toronto, Vancouver)
Client Yves St-Laurent
Année Depuis 2009
Share This